skip to content
0xHashbrown

From Lurking to Working

/ 2 min read

A number of months ago, I was introduced to Cabin DAO (aka Creator Cabins) through my friend Mxmnr. He’s been a member of ATXDAO and we were discussing local DAOs and opportunities surrounding land development and collectivism. He mentioned Cabin, and I was immediately hooked.

I was exploring and fascinated with the idea of building something in Texas Hill Country, it’s West of Austin and so easily accessed from the city. I was imagining a shared space that had various levels of structures to support different needs, and it being open to anyone that wanted to develop their own ideas and projects on property.

Once I found out about Cabin, I was immediately so excited that something existed along these lines, but at the scale and progress that Cabin had already build up. I was fortunate to be in the right place, at the right time, with the right information.

As we were sitting there at Blacksheep Lodge, I immediately joined Cabin’s Discord and looked into the requirements to join the DAO and participate. I needed to purchase or earn some CABIN, so I jumped on Uniswap, grabbed my tokens and headed over to the verification channel and I was in!

The first thing to do, like many Discord Servers, was choosing a role. In Cabin they have the following Guilds (roles):

  • ✍️ Media Guild
  • ⛺️ Placemaker’s Guild
  • 🛠 Product Guild
  • 🏗 Community Guild

I joined the Placemaker and Product Guilds. As I jumped in and cruised around the channels, I found some interesting ongoing ideas/projects that I could contribute to. There was one in particular that caught my eye. Some of the Placemakers Guild were talking about making a sign, I had a laser cutter/engraver, and the rest is internet history.